The Earth Science Museum is dedicated to sparking people’s interest in geosciences. Since its opening in 1963, the Museum has provided a rich resource for researchers and learning experience for students and visitors.
The Museum prides itself on offering an interactive experience that entertains and educates visitors.
The Museum features 11 informative displays, covering the topics listed below:
Primary and Secondary school visits are an integral part of the Museum’s activities. School tours are tailored to individual groups according to age and specific areas of interest (while young visitors may enjoy making their own earthquake, older students have the opportunity to reinforce their class room learning).
While there’s always plenty of activity within the public exhibition space – there’s also a lot going on behind the scenes.
The University’s mineral, rock, fossil and meteorite collections are held by the Museum. The Research Collection contains nearly 160,000 registered specimens – all stored, managed and cared for by Museum staff.
Professor Edward de Courcy Clarke was a highly respected teacher, researcher and field geologist. Professor Clarke was head of the Geology Department at the University for almost 30 years (from 1920 - 1948).
During his career – before and after joining the ranks at UWA – Professor Clarke carried out extensive field work in challenging areas. His fieldwork and research were instrumental in expanding the geological knowledge of Western Australia.
Professor Clarke was born in Waimate, New Zealand in 1880.
He completed his university training in Auckland in 1901, and spent the next 11 years teaching and conducting geological work in New Zealand.
Professor Clarke moved to Australia in 1912 to join the Geological Survey of Western Australia.
Known as 'Corky' to his students at UWA, Professor Clarke is remembered as an inspiring teacher who took a personal interest in the welfare of those he taught.
In 1989 the Earth Science Museum was named in his honour, ensuring his great contribution the University and to the field of geology will long be recognised. The naming coincided with an upgrade of the Museum which was generously supported by the public, industry and Professor Clarke’s three sons, Miles, John and Stuart.